Thursday, June 25, 2009

A Fascinating Article about the Audiobook Biz

Heidi Schooler wrote a fascinating article over at where she interviews the amazing Mr. Pat Fraley and Marc Cashman about the Audiobook Biz.

It's called (Audio) Book Smart. It's an interesting read and I highly recommend you pop over and give it the once over.

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

A Whopper of a Voiceover Resource Directory

I came across this list from one of my subscriptions, can't remember which but in any case, here is a WHOPPER of a voiceover resource directory which includes over 200 sites that list voiceover casting opportunities. OVER 200!!

You can check out Taji's Voice Over Directory by clicking here.

Thursday, June 11, 2009

It is ALIVE!!!

Scott Brick and the Audio Publishers Association contest is officially live! They are looking for the next great audiobook narrator. Could it be YOU??

For more info, visit Scott's site.

Good luck!

Tuesday, June 02, 2009

To Shave . . . or not to shave. THAT is the question!

I've had a goatee for about 15 - 20 years but recently, due to various theatrical productions I've been in, I've changed my facial hair styles from goatee to full beard and then to clean-shaven. Now that I'm between shows, I am wondering which style to keep? So what do you think? Should I go with A, B or C?

Winners of the 2009 Audie Awards Announced

Without further ado, the winners of the 2009 Audies:

Audiobook of the Year was won by Neil Gaiman, writer and narrator of "The Graveyard Book"; HarperChildren's Audio.

Distinguished Achievement in Production was won by Live & Listen Audio for "Curse of the Blue Tattoo: Being an Account of the Misadventures of Jacky Faber, Midshipman and Fine Lady" by L.A. Meyer, narrated by Katherine Kellgren.

Solo Narration - Male was won by narrator John Lee for his work on "The Count of Monte Cristo" by Alexandre Dumas; Blackstone Audio.

Solo Narration - Female was won by narrator Katherine Kellgren for her work on "Curse of the Blue Tattoo: Being an Account of the Misadventures of Jacky Faber, Midshipman and Fine Lady", a novel by L.A. Meyer; Listen and Live Audio.

Narration by the Author was won by David Sedaris for "When You Are Engulfed in Flames"; Hachette Audio.

Multi-Voiced Performance was won by "Mudbound" by Hillary Jordan, read by Kate Forbes, Joey Collins, Peter Jay Fernandez, Ezra Knight, Brenda Pressley, and Tom Stechschulte; Recorded Books.

Special Achievement Awards were won by Michael Snodgrass and Eileen Hutton of Brilliance Audio.

Judges Award - Politics was won by "Hot, Flat, and Crowded" by Thomas Friedman, read by Oliver Wyman; Macmillan Audio.

Humor was won by "The Learners" by Chip Kidd, read by actor Bronson Pinchot; Blackstone Audio.

Spanish Language was won by "Por in Dia Mas/For One More Day" by Mitch Albom; read by Jose Manuel Vieira; FonoLibro, Inc.

Teens was won by "Curse of the Blue Tattoo: Being an Account of the Misadventures of Jacky Faber, Midshipman and Fine Lady" by L.A. Meyer, read by Katherine Kellgren; Listen & Live Audio.

Children's Titles Ages 8 to 12 was won by "The Graveyard Book", written and narrated by Neil Gaiman; HarperChildren's Audio.

Children's Titles Ages up to 8 was won by "James Herriot's Treasury for Children"; James Herriot, read by Jim Dale; Macmillan Audio.

Original Work was won by "Louis Vuitton Soundwalk: Beijing" by Stephan Crasneanscki, narrated by Gong Li; Louis Vuitton.

Audio Drama was won by "The Odyssey" by Homer, narrated by Tim McInnerny, Amanda Redman and a full cast; BBC Audiobooks America.

Audiobook Adaptation was won by "English Majors: A Comedy Collection For The Highly Literate" written/read by Garrison Keillor and cast, with special guests Billy Collins, Roy Blount Jr., Robert Bly, Donald Hall, Allen Ginsberg, and Calvin Trillin; HighBridge.

Package Design was won by "Founding Fathers", written by Arthur M. Schlesinger, read by Ira Claffey and Richard Rohan with package design by Margo Goody; Macmillan Audio.

Classic was won by "Great Expectations", written by Charles Dickens, read by British narrator Simon Vance; Tantor Audio.

Romance was won by "The Dark Highlander", written by Karen Marie Moning, narrated by Phil Gigante; Brilliance Audio.

Thriller / Suspense was won by "Child 44", written by Tom Rob Smith, read by narrator Dennis Boutsikaris; Hachette Audio.

Science Fiction / Fantasy was won by "Calculating God", a book by Robert J. Sawyer, read by Jonathan Davis; Audible, Inc.

Mystery was won by "Voice of The Violin", authored by Andrea Camilleri, read by narrator Grover Gardner; Blackstone Audio.

Short Stories / Collections was won by "Armageddon in Retrospect" by Kurt Vonnegut; intro read by Mark Vonnegut; read by Rip Torn; Penguin Audio.

Literary Fiction was won by "Elmer Gantry", a novel by Sinclair Lewis, read by narrator Anthony Heald; Blackstone Audio.

Inspirational / Faith-based Fiction was won by "Prague Counterpoint", written by Bodie and Brock Thoene; read by Sean Barrett;

Fiction Audie was a tie! This award was won by "The Duma Key", written by Stephen King, read by John Slatter; Simon and Schuster Audio. This award was also won by "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society" by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows, read by Paul Boehmer, Susan Duerden, Rosalyn Landor, John Lee, and Juliet Mills; Books on Tape.

Personal Development was won by "You Staying Young" by Michael F. Roizen and Mehmet C. Oz, read by Johnny Heller, Recorded Books.

Inspirational / Faith-based Non-Fiction was won by "The Word of Promise: Next Generation New Testament" read by Sean Astin and cast; Thomas Nelson Inc.

Business / Educational was won by "The Little Red Book of Selling" written and narrated by Jeffrey Gitomer; Simon & Schuster Audio.

History was won by "Gandhi and Churchill" by Arthur Herman, narrated by John Curless; Recorded Books.

Biography / Memoir was won by "The Last Lecture" by Randy Pausch with Jeffrey Zaslow, narrated by Erik Singer; Hyperion Audiobooks.

Non-Fiction was won by "Hot, Flat, and Crowded", by Thomas Friedman, narrated by Oliver Wyman; Macmillan Audio.